Tales of A Paleo Mom

March Challenge Update and Weekly Menu Plan

on March 16, 2014

So…things are going.  Overall, I would say the family is making healthier choices, but we are still a long way from where I would love everyone to be.  Baby steps…baby steps.

My daughter, Sarah, worked on a school project at her friend’s house on Wednesday night.  She was invited to stay for dinner which ended up being takeout from In and Out Burger.  When I picked her up, she was super excited to share that she did not order fries or a milkshake (which would have been her normal order) and just got the burger.  She is my carb girl, so of course she ordered it with the bun.   I told her I was impressed that she thought about what she was ordering and was able to think about what would be better choices.  I left it at that.  Baby steps…baby steps.

My son went home with a friend on Thursday due to parent teacher conferences.  They went to Taco Bell.  No comment.

My husband is trying but has had quite a few meals out for a variety of reasons.  I know it is not easy for him (or the rest of the family for that matte) but he is trying…kind of.

Me…I have realized that I am too hard on myself and need to stop beating myself up over things and just move on.  Last week was not a great week as far as my eating, but not for the reasons above like my family.  It was a really stressful week last week – report cards and parent teacher conferences.  I ended up not eating enough during the day which resulted in nighttime binge eating.  I ALWAYS woke up feeling crappy the next day…which then resulted in not eating until lunch time and the pattern continued.  I am back on track for the most part after the last two days.  I set a goal for myself for the upcoming week.  This week my mini goal is to make sure that I eat breakfast within the first two hours of waking up.  Preparation is going to be key :)

In all honesty though, the family is eating healthier overall and that’s a good thing.  Makes me a happy mama :)

Weekly Menu for the Week of March 16

  • Sunday:  Prosciutto Pesto Chicken Roulade (with cheese for the others) from againstallgrain.com
  • Monday:  London Broil with Rosemary Vegetables from Against All Grain
  • Tuesday:  Bacon Wrapped Chicken Tenders with Honey Mustard Sauce
  • Wednesday:  Pork Tenderloin
  • Thursday:  Coffee Marinaded Steak Fajitas from OMG.  That’s Paleo?
  • Friday…
  • Saturday…

Off to finish my grocery list, shop, meal prep, squeeze in a Strong Curves workout and enjoy a bit of sunshine!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

