Tales of A Paleo Mom

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

on August 23, 2012

I had been craving banana bread and needed a treat for the family.  Last night, I did a quick search for a banana bread recipe using coconut flour instead of almond flour/almond butter (we are too nutty as it is!).   I came across this recipe http://beta.primal-palate.com/recipe/banana-bread/ but made muffins instead of a loaf and added mini Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips.  The muffins were such a hit that they have disappeared and I am off to make another batch….better make it a double 🙂

Ingredients:

1/2 c. coconut flour, sifted

1/2 c. banana, very ripe and mashed

1/2 Tb. maple syrup, grade B (I read somewhere grade B is cheaper and more flavorful.)

1/2 Tb. vanilla

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 c. organic coconut oil

1/4 tsp. baking soda

4 Medjool dates, pitted and chopped

6 eggs

What to do…

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine coconut flour, salt, and baking soda.
  3. In my bullet, I blended the maple syrup, eggs, vanilla and dates.  I let it blend for probably 1 minute.  There were still small chunks of date in the liquid.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into dry, and continue to blend.
  5. Add mashed banana and blend.
  6. Melt coconut oil, add to batter and blend.
  7. Lightly grease loaf pans, and add batter, allowing some room for the bread to rise.  (I greased my muffin tin with coconut oil and filled them 3/4 of the way.  It made 11 muffins.)
  8. Bake at 350°F for 30 minutes.  (I checked at 20 minutes but they still needed more time.  I continued to check every 10 minutes.  I lost track of time but think the cooked close to 40 minutes total.)
  9. Let cool…if you can!

*There are lots of thing you can add into your batter to change it up.  I mentioned I added mini chocolate chips, but you could add walnut pieces or raisins to the muffins as well.

3 responses to “Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

  1. […] Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins:  These are made on a weekly basis and I currently have some frozen in the freezer.  I try not to let them eat too many at a time as I have read that too much coconut flour can cause tummy issues. […]

Leave a Reply

