Tales of A Paleo Mom

Zucchini Cakes

on September 1, 2012

My husband questioned me when I told him I made zucchini cakes.  Actually, he looked at me like I was crazy.  He has learned over the last couple weeks to just try what I have made because he usually ends up liking it.  I have gotten him to eat kale, collard greens, cauliflower, broccoli slaw and zucchini.  When I tell our family and friends, they really can’t believe it.  AND the best part is he said he is enjoying the foods I am making more than what we were eating before “the change.

We eat this once to twice a week now.  They are good with steak, chicken and pork.  I even ate some leftovers for breakfast :)Enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 zucchinis, grated

2 eggs, beaten

1-2 tsp. coconut flour

2 green onions, sliced

Salt and pepper to taste

Additional seasoning if desired (I threw in pizza seasoning.  Since I found this, I have be using it in everything!)

What to do...

  1. Squeeze excess water from grated zucchini.  I haven’t been doing this and end up with quite a bit of liquid in the bottom of the bowl towards the end of cooking them.
  2. Mix all of the ingredients together in a medium sized bowl.
  3. In a medium sized skillet, heat 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil over medium heat.
  4. Once the oil is warm, place 1/4-1/3 cup of the zucchini mixture into the pan.  Spread it out So it’s not too thick.
  5. After 2-3 minutes, flip the zucchini cake over.  It should be browned.  Continue to cook another 2-3 minutes. Pop hem onto a plate once done.
* I usually get 4-5 zucchini cakes from this recipe.  For those who are following a more primal diet, you could add some Parmesan cheese to the recipe.
Leave a Reply

