Tales of A Paleo Mom

21 Day Sugar Detox-Day 1

on September 6, 2012

I have a sweet tooth.  Like major sweet tooth.  The last several months I have done really well with eliminating sweets with the occassional piece or two of dark chocolate.  I thought I had gotten it undercontrol.  Well…I was wrong.

Now that I have gotten the rest of the family to go “paloe-ish”, I have been baking more treats to ease them into our healthier way of eating.  Its been great for them and they are enjoying our new eating habits…but not so good for me.  I am fine during the day.  It is at night after dinner.  The worst part is I just sit the in the kitchen while the family thinks I am cleaning….little do they know, I am scarfing down the batch of brownies I just baked.   I can’t resist and once I start, I can’t stop.  One bite of zucchini brownie turns into a whole row and before I know it, I have eaten close to 1/2 of the pan. Oops!

So…I have decided to do the 21 Day Sugar Detox.  I tried it once at the end of last school year and made it 10 days before giving in.  This time I am determined to make it the full 21 days and hopefully beyond.  So for the next three weeks, I will eliminate all sugar from my diet with the exception of a daily green apple or green banana and plan to post my daily eats.

So dark chocolate and I are breaking up for the next three weeks.  😦

Here’s what I ate today:

  • Breakfast-black coffee (brought breakfast but didn’t make time to eat before school started!)
  • Lunch-zucchini cake, leftover quick and easy grilled shrimp (about 8-10), whole avocado
  • Snack-zucchini cake, 3 slices of black forest ham, green-ish banana and cashews
  • Dinner-roasted chicken, sweet potato mash (no honey like the rest of the gang), broccoli, kale with bacon
  • 8:30 pm-raw coconut butter packet (love these) and organic apple red tea

Not too bad.  I am pretty sure there was a bit of sugar in the ham and bacon, but I am not worried about that small amount.  I am off to make cookies for my hubby and his coworkers.  Nothing like torturing myself with some treats.

Wish me luck…I’m gonna need it!

2 responses to “21 Day Sugar Detox-Day 1

  1. thesugarfreegirl says:

    I also just started the 21DSD for so many of the same reasons. 20 days to go =)

  2. Joy says:

    i am trying too. good luck!

Leave a Reply

