Tales of A Paleo Mom

Balsamic Garlic Crusted Steak and Sugar Detox – Day 2

on September 7, 2012

This recipe can be used for many different types of meat.  I have used it on pork tenderloin and Chateaubriand steaks.   It is quick, easy and doesn’t require the meat to marinade for more than 30 minutes if you don’t have the time.  This is a perfect dinner dish for a busy family!

Ingredients

2 Tb. balsamic vinegar

2 1/2 tsp. coarse salt (I used pink Himalayan salt from Whole Foods.)

1/2 tsp. fresh ground pepper

5-6 cloves of garlic, minced

2 Tb. avocado oil

2 lb. meat of choice

What to do…

  1. Stir together vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic, and oil.
  2. Rub paste all over meat.
  3. Allow meat to sit for 30 minutes.  If time allows, stick it back in the refrigerator to marinade overnight.
  4. Grill.

DETOX – DAY 2

I have survived day two of no sugar!  Only 19 more to go!!!! I had a hard time getting up this morning, but that is because I went to bed way too late and my frigging alarm insists on going off every morning at 5:30 am.  I hit snooze twice before getting up which only made me more tired.  Overall, I would say I felt pretty good today and never got to the point where I was super hungry.

Once I got home from work, I went right out into the garage to get in a chest and tri workout.  Dinner was on the table by 6:30.  After dinner, I helped my daughter with her algebra homework (which I am going to have to start reviewing soon!), cleaned up the dinner dishes and made a batch of these http://paleomg.com/zucchini-apple-spice-muffins/.  I made half of the batch without honey for me and then added honey to the remaining half for the rest of the family.  I would love to go eat one and let you know who wonderful they are, but I am trying not to eat anything after dinner.  Guess I have something to look forward to in the morning!  Here are my eats for today…

  • Breakfast – Black coffee, 2 hard boiled eggs, sausage, greenish banana
  • Lunch – last night’s dinner leftovers (roasted chicken thigh, sauteed kale with bacon, steamed broccoli) and a handful of macadamia nuts
  • Dinner – ground beef “tacos”, a whole avocado
  • Cup of decaf with cinnamon and full fat coconut milk and 6 macadamia nuts (they were leftovers from my husband’s lunch)

Here are a few sites I have come across which are helpful for the sugar detox.  Two of them have recipes and the third is actually the plan I am trying to follow…again!

  • Paleomg – Juli is hilarious. She just completed the 21DSD and posted several recipes she mad while following the program.
  • The Food Lovers Kitchen – They have an entire section with the meals they ate when doing the 21 day sugar detox.  They listed what they ate for breakfast, lunch and dinner and included the recipes as well.  Super helpful!
  • The 21 Day Sugar Detox – If you want to try the detox but don’t really know what to you, you can purchase the book at this site.  It is the one I am following.  It has three different levels depending on how “paleo” you are before beginning detox.  It also has some tasty recipes.  While it isn’t necessary to follow a written plan, (basically give up all forms of sugar except for one green apple or green banana per day) it was helpful to have the book to guide me in the beginning.
One response to “Balsamic Garlic Crusted Steak and Sugar Detox – Day 2

  1. Jessica A says:

    Yummm!!! Thank you so much for this recipe…made it tonight w some Pork. It was scrumptious!!

Leave a Reply

