Tales of A Paleo Mom

Sweet and Sour Glaze/Dipping Sauce and Sugar Detox – Day 3

on September 8, 2012

This was supposed to be posted last night but as I was typing it and falling asleep last night at 11:30 p.m., I decided I better wait until morning. I knew it would be full of more mistakes than normal….

My husband is a dipper.  He has to have sauce for just about all meats.  I originally fixed this dipping sauce for pork chops, but we have since used it for chicken and steak.  It is another quick and easy recipe.  I usually double the batch and keep some on hand in the fridge.

Ingredients:

1/3 c. balsamic vinegar

4 Tb. butter (I use Kerrygold.)

2 TB. honey

1 sprig fresh rosemary, torn into 1″ pieces OR 1 tsp. dried rosemary, crushed

What to do…

  1. Combine vinegar and honey in a small saucepan and cook over medium heat until reduced to 1⁄4 cup.
  2. Stir in butter and rosemary and remove from heat

DETOX – DAY 3

I woke up at the usual 5:30 a.m.  but jumped out of bed since I knew it was Friday!  Everyone loves Friday!  I was also really looking forward to getting to try one of the Zucchini Apple Spice Muffins from Juli at Paleomg.  As I mentioned yesterday, I left out the honey in my muffins to stick with the sugar detox and made several with honey for the rest of the family.  I think they are yummy (even without the sugar), but the rest of the family wasn’t too convinced.  My husband said they needed chocolate chips.  I think I will just stick to making them without sugar even when done with the detox.  I am not sure if my tastes are changing but they were sweet enough for me.

I ended up staying at school organizing and cleaning up until almost 5:00.  I planned on doing a back and bicep workout once I got home.  Plans changed once my husband arrived home with four children (1 of ours and 3 friends) and was told we were going out for Mexican food for dinner!  My favorite!  We met friends for dinner and sat for a while after just chatting away.  Once we got home, I was hungry and decided to eat something small to help hold my stomach over until morning.

Here’s what I ate today…

  • Breakfast – muffin, 2 scrambled eggs with spinach, macadamia nuts
  • Lunch – “tortilla”, hamburger patty, steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, and a whole avocado
  • Dinner – (out) steak fajita meat with peppers and onions, Tb. of guacamole, green salad no dressing
  • 10:00 p.m. – handful of macadamia nuts, a grilled chicken tender, steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, coffee with full fat coconut milk

Overall, I was in a pretty good mood but it is also Friday.  This weekend is going to be busy.  We have a memorial for my grandmother tomorrow and then a birthday party to attend.  I plan on keeping it clean tomorrow by packing some snacks.  The kids and husband are excited about having a “cheat” day.  I had hoped to keep it to a cheat meal but it seems like it turns into a whole day.  I struggle with this and am trying not to nag, but instead remind them about making smart choices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

