Tales of A Paleo Mom

How My Family Went Paleo and Sugar Detox – Day 4 and Day 5

on September 10, 2012

A lot of people don’t really understand why we decided to have our family change to the paleo way of eating (I hate when people call it a diet!).  As I have mentioned before, my husband, Steve,  and I started back in January and stuck with it for a month.  Steve wasn’t convinced he was noticing any improvement and decided to go back to our previous way of eating.   It was easy to do since the house was still full of those foods since we were letting our kids still consume cereals, cookies, breads, crackers, etc.  My stomach issues had greatly improved, so I was trying to continue to eat healthy.  I sort of stuck with it but again temptation was in the house.  I am emotional eater and it has been a tough year for us (pay cuts, being pink slipped, etc.).  I would find myself stuffing handfuls of goldfish into my mouth only to then regret it shortly after.

Then summer started and I was able to focus on the foods I was eating and really cleaned up my diet.  I had a slip or two when on vacation but after reading several books (It Starts with Food and The Primal Blueprint 21-Day Total Body Transformation)  I really was ready and understood the importance of eating real food.  My husband kept saying he was on board for cleaning up his eating once all of our summer trips were over.  I could handle that 🙂

But what really caused this all to happen for us as a family was a commercial.  It sounds ridiculous but it was about kids and diabetes and I immediately thought of my son.  He had gained quite a bit of weight over the last year and did not have a healthy diet.  I remember thinking to myself, “What am I doing to my family?  Especially my kids.  I am the one responsible for the foods they are eating and I am providing them with crap!”  I felt guilty that I was taking care of myself but letting my family eat those foods.

It just happened to work out that Steve had taken the kids away for one last summer camping trip.  They were gone for two nights and I saw the opportunity to do something I never thought I would do.  Clean out the  house of SAD (Standard American Diet) foods.  It felt good and scary at the same time.  I knew I was doing the right thing but just worried about the reaction I would get when they returned home.  I also found it difficult to throw out food I had just spent money on, but knew they had to go!

Here’s a picture of what came out of the pantry:

So that’s how this all started.   I am so glad I made the decision to get the whole family on board.  We definitely aren’t perfect and there is still room for improvement.  But I can say that we are eating WAY healthier than before and I know what I am feeding my family is GOOD FOOD!

Day 3 and Day 4

Day 3

  • Breakfast:  2 chicken tenders, steamed broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots, zucchini apple muffin (21-DSD-sytle), black coffee
  • Lunch:  (out with family) spinach salad with mushrooms, katamala olives, bacon with grilled chicken, handful of macadamia nuts (once we got home)
  • 3:00 p.m.:  strawberry kombucha (It does have 4 grams of sugar but I am not stressing over it.  My tummy needed after eating out the night before)
  • Dinner: (children’s b-day party) hamburger with mustard and lettuce, raw carrots and broccoli
  • 8:00 p.m.: grilled chicken tenders, sauerkraut, handful of macadamia nuts, black with coconut milk (Think I was hungry since I didn’t eat much fat earlier in the day.)

Day 4

  • Breakfast: one scrambles egg with spinach, zucchini apple muffin (21-DSD-sytle), black coffee
  • Lunch:  2 applegate grassfed hot dogs, mixed greens salad with balsamic dressing
  • 5:00 p.m.: hard-boiled egg, kale chips (postwork out and was hungry)
  • Dinner: meatloaf, mashed sweet potatoes, balsamic brussel sprouts with bacon
  • 9:00 p.m.:  handful of macadamia nuts, hard-boiled egg coffee with coconut milk

So you may have noticed the eating after dinner hasn’t been going so well.  I don’t think I have been eating enough through out the day and I need to include more healthy fats.  My stomach is already much less bloated so I know eliminating sugar is helping but I would to stop the habit of eating after dinner.

Recipes to come this week…

Balsamic Brussel Sprouts with Bacon, Mmmmmm Meatloaf,  and Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Leave a Reply

