Tales of A Paleo Mom

Mmmmmm Meatloaf

on September 12, 2012

Meatloaf and I have quite a history.  It started when I was a child actually.  My mom used to make meatloaf for dinner.  Who doesn’t like meatloaf?  Well, meatloaf for dinner usually meant a meatloaf sandwich for lunch the next day.  My mom would slice up the meatloaf and put it on whole wheat bread with smeared with ketchup.  I hated meatloaf sandwiches.   I despised them so much that I would hide my brown bag lunch in my backpack until I got home.  Then I would hide the brown bag lunch in my closet on a hidden shelf and I would forget about it.  And everyone was happy….until my parents discovered my stash.  Then things got ugly and pretty stinky too.

The good news this meatloaf recipe leaves my family with no leftovers!  We had this on Sunday night and I served it with mashed sweet potatoes, a green salad with balsamic vinaigrette and Brussels sprouts.

Ingredients:

2 lbs. grass fed ground beef

1/4 c. almond flour

2 eggs

3 handfuls of baby spinach

1 roasted red bell pepper

1/4 onion, chopped

2Tb. pizza seasonings(I use it in everything!)

Salt and pepper

3 strips of bacon

What to do…

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Put eggs, spinach, rosated red bell pepper, and onion into food processor.  Blend until everything is combined.  I blend mine for a while since my family  doesn’t like chunks of veggies.
  3. Put ground beef in a large mixing bowl.  Add egg mixture, almond flour, pizza seasonings, and salt and pepper.  Mix well with your hands.
  4. Divide meat mixture  in half.  Make two meatloaves (mine were probably 6 inches by 3 inches).  Place loaves in a 9 x 13 in. baking dish.
  5. Cut bacon strips in half.  Lay bacon across meatloaves.
  6. Bake in oven 45 minutes.
  7. Turn broiler onto crisp to crisp the bacon.  Watch carefully so it doesn’t burn!
  8. Remove from oven.  Slice and serve!

(I know I said I would start posting pictures but I keep eating my food before I remember to snap a picture.  I’m working on it!)

Sugar Detox – Day 7

I am already one third of the way there!  Today I wanted something sweet.  It doesn’t help when we had chocolate fondue with strawberries in the staff lounge.  I do have to say that I felt so much better today after getting to bed at a fairly decent time.  That’s the goal tonight too!  Here’s what I ate…

  • Breakfast:  leftover Chicken Yassa, greenish banana, vanilla apricot tea
  • Lunch: Balsamic Brussels Sprouts with Bacon, leftover meatloaf (Okay, I stretched the truth.  One little end piece was left!), an avocado
  • 5:00 pm:  more sprouts with chicken, macadamia nuts, two helpings of plantain chips (sooo addicting!)
  • Dinner:  short ribs (wasn’t a huge fan of them), green beans
  • 9:30 p.m:  8 oz. kombucha

I was so hungry after my workout and before dinner that  I ended up eating more plantain chips than I had planned.  I am hoping to make my own plantain chips this weekend.  The ones from Trader Joe’s have safflower oil which I don’t want to be eating.

I’m sleepy!  Off to bed 🙂

4 responses to “Mmmmmm Meatloaf

  1. Jennifer says:

    Wonderful to hear about the sugar detox. I’ve tried several times. I think it must be similar to quitting smoking. This year I only made it three months, but I’ll try again. Keep going!! You’re an inspiration!

    • Thanks! My husband asked me today what I was going to do after the 21 days and I hadn’t really thought too much about it. After thinking for a minute, I told him I would probably try and stick with how I am eating now with maybe the occasional treat. We will see how things are going at the end of the 21 days!

  2. […] Mmmmmm Meatloaf (talesofapaleomom.wordpress.com) Share this:EmailStumbleUponFacebookTwitterLinkedInRedditPrintTumblrPinterestDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Home cooked recipes and tagged Fast Food Nation, grass-fed beef, meatloaf recipe, military lifestyle, military spouse, oatmeal meatloaf, reducing carbon footprint, visiting the farm, zero waste. Bookmark the permalink. ← Giving up the stars! […]

Leave a Reply

