Tales of A Paleo Mom

Balsamic Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Sugar Detox-Day 8

on September 13, 2012

I recently discovered this recipe on the bag of shaved Brussels sprouts at Trader Joe’s.  I have never fixed Brussels sprouts before this recipe.  This isn’t something the rest of my family eats, but it is one of my favorite side dishes now.

Ingredients

1 bag shaved Brussels sprouts from Trader Joe’s

3 slices bacon

1/4 cup water

1/4 balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper

What to do…

  1. In a large skillet, cook bacon.  Remove once done.
  2. In the bacon fat remaining in the pan, saute the shaved sprouts.  Depending on how much fat you have from the bacon, you may need to a couple tablespoons of olive oil to the pan while sauteing.  Cut (I usually just rip it with my hands) the cooked bacon into bite size pieces and add to the pan.  Cook the sprouts for 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally.

    Sauteing Brussels sprouts in bacon fat

  3. Add water and balsamic vinegar.  Stir and then cover.
  4. Turn heat down to medium low and continue to cook for 3-5 minutes.
  5. Salt and pepper to taste and serve.

They didn’t picture well…but they really are yummy!

Sugar Detox-Day 8

I am slowly remembering why I only made it ten days the first time.  I really am craving something sweet other than a banana or an apple.  I haven’t given in but the thought was there!  I had lots of leftovers today so it is pretty boring.  Here’s what I ate today…

  • Breakfast:  2 scrambled eggs with 1 cup balsamic Brussels sprouts, black tea
  • Lunch:  leftover Chicken Yassa with cauliflower rice and green beans
  • Snack:  one carrot and cashews
  • Dinner:  lingucia, leftover Chicken Yassa with cauliflower and green beans, macadamia nuts (TOO MANY!) and 8 oz. kombucha
3 responses to “Balsamic Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Sugar Detox-Day 8

  1. Amelia Civitell says:

    Wow, Janelle, you’ve convinced me to try this. Honestly, I’ve always hated brussels sprouts (They smell like wet socks to me and probably taste like it, though I’ve never eaten wet socks.) But, bacon can make anything taste good and your pictures look appetizing, so here it goes…

  2. chezron says:

    I LOVE this recipe for brussels sprouts! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

