Tales of A Paleo Mom

Things We Can’t Live Without and Sugar Detox Day 11

on September 16, 2012

My family has a couple of things that are making our healthier lifestyle easier to cope with (although my 12 year old is starting to complain about not eating like her friends).  I am strict when it comes to my diet because there is no enjoying a small treat without it going into a full blown binge (which is why I am doing the 21 Day Sugar Detox).  My husband and two kids, on the other hand, are still working on adapting to our new food choices.  They definitely are limited as to what is in the house since I am the one doing the grocery shopping.  But as I have mentioned, they still want treats.  So here are the items they can’t live without right now…

  1. Simply Lemonade with sparkling mineral berry flavored water from Whole Foods:  I fill a glass with ice, then fill half way with mineral water,   next top off with lemonade and give it a quick stir.  This has helped them give up sodas and regular juice.  I try and limit the kids to one glass per day.  I know they are still getting quite a dose of sugar but it is not nearly as bad as drinking a soda or Gatorade.
  2. Coconut ice cream or homemade sorbet: This family has to have dessert still.  Luna and Larry’s Organic Coconut Bliss is the BOMB!  The cappuccino flavor is our favor hands down but does contain 12 grams of sugar.  Steve loves it with dark chocolate melted and then drizzled over the top.  The chocolate hardens and is like Magic Shell.  Sarah’s Strawberry Sorbet has also become a favorite in the house.
  3. Trader Joe’s Fair Trade Organic Belgian Chocolate Bars (dark 72%):  I try and eat 85% but this one is good for Steve and Sarah (Joe isn’t a fan).  I really like that it doesn’t contain soy lecithin and doesn’t cost a fortune.  It melts well and is the one I use on coconut ice cream.  Sarah usually with have two squares as a treat.
  4. Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins:  These are made on a weekly basis and I currently have some frozen in the freezer.  I try not to let them eat too many at a time as I have read that too much coconut flour can cause tummy issues.
  5. Roasted Plantain Chips from Trader Joe’s:  These are usually a treat because they are prepared in safflower or sunflower oil which is a no-no.  These chips are a crunchy salty treat.  Yummy with guacamole.

Our diet isn’t perfect (I know I keep saying it) but what we eat now is such a huge improvement from what we were eating before. While I can control what we are eating at home and in everyone’s lunches (for the most part), I don’t worry about what they are eating when we go out.  That’s a lie…I do worry about what they eat when they go out but am working on instilling the importance of making good choices when it comes to eating and their health.  As an example, today at a birthday party the kids chose to eat a hamburger with a bun (cringe) and Sarah had a cupcake (double cringe).  I know they want to feel “normal” so I try not to say anything when we are at functions.  When they ask me if it is okay, I usually respond by reminding them to make healthy choices but let them know they need to decide what they want to eat.  We started by saying we would treat ourselves once a month.  Then it turned into once a week which I am fine with.  Although, lately it seems like it is happening more than once a week.

Sugar Detox – Day 11

OVER HALFWAY!  Today was a busy day.  Two soccer games, a kid’s birthday party and then we went to the carnival AGAIN!  My eating was off today as far as consuming real meals and I ate too many freezer waffles.  (They are too darn good, and I am sad to say they have all been consumed!) I was able to eat a burger at the birthday party and some raw veggies, but I definitely would not consume anything from the carnival because just looking at the food and smelling it was enough to make my stomach ache and gurgle.   Plus, a meal there would have cost a small fortune.

  • Breakfast:  Freezer waffle (from Eat Like a Dinosaur), black coffee
  • Snack:  hard boiled egg, kale chips
  • Lunch:  hamburger, raw carrots, celery and broccoli
  • Snack:  TWO Freezer waffles (slightly addicted to these and they satisfy my sweet craving), two sliced of black forest ham, kale chips
  • Dinner: crock pot pulled pork, avocado, 15-20 pistachios
Leave a Reply

