Tales of A Paleo Mom

Meal Plan for the Week of March 24

on March 25, 2013

I try and sit down on Sunday and plan out what we will be having for dinner during the week.  It doesn’t always happen, but it sure makes the week a little less stressful if I can get it done.  One problem we have had is feeling like we are eating the same things over and over again, so for the last month I have been using a month long calendar and filling it out on Sunday for the upcoming week.  It has actually been helpful and I hope to keep it up.  It is nice to be able to go back and look at what we have eaten.  It makes it easier to not eat the same thing every week, although we do have a few favorites that we could eat weekly (Taco Salad).

Here is the plan for this week…

  • Sunday -Leftover Roasted Chicken “Enchiladas” with Cauliflower rice (the family will eat regular enchiladas and rice)
  • Monday – Swedish Meatballs with leftover Cauliflower rice (noodles for those not “Paleo“)
  • Tuesday – Marinaded Pork Tenderloin with roasted asparagus (and roasted red potatoes for the others)
  • Wednesday – BBQ London Broil with broccoli slaw (I might try and do salmon this night.  It’s been a while!)
  • Thursday – my mother in law will be doing dinner
  • Friday – Pizza (out for the gang) and cauliflower or zucchini pizza boats for me 🙂

I had planned on making chili adapted from the Paleo Indulgences cookbook.  After groceries and a few other errands, I ended up baking Banana Snack Cake for the family, attempting to make coconut tortillas for my enchiladas, preparing enchiladas for dinner, prepping and cooking cauliflower rice, making Spanish rice for the family, and creating Dark Chocolate Bark for a treat (recipe to come).  Once I had prepared all of this and did the clean up, I didn’t feel like making the chili and I already had leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch packed so it is going to wait until tomorrow.

The coconut “tortillas” I made for my enchiladas were more like pancakes.  I mixed all the ingredients as directed in a blender (my little Bullet blender, which I love) and almost killed it.  If you haven’t cooked with coconut flour before, it absorbs a lot of moisture.  The recipe I followed called for 4 eggs, 1/4 c. melted coconut oil, 1/2 c. coconut flour, 1/4 tsp. baking powder, 2 pinches of salt, and 2/3 to 1/2 c. (which confused me because that is a greater amount to a lesser amount) of coconut milk or water.  I went with the lesser liquid amount and the batter was super thick, so I added more coconut milk and, even with the extra liquid, my little Bullet started slowing down.  It was not happy.  So I scooped out the mix into a bowl and continued to whisk the batter by hand.  I ended up adding more liquid (water this time) to get a thin enough batter to make tortillas.  I prepped the skillet with a little coconut oil and excitedly poured in the first tortilla.  I tried to swirl it around like I had done with coconut crepes in the past to thin it out, but that didn’t work so well.  When I went to flip it, the tortilla ripped in half.  Fail!  This happened twice!  Thing 1 and Thing 2 into the sink.

Tortilla FailI was about to dump the rest of the batter down the drain out of frustration, but I really hate wasting food and healthy food isn’t cheap!  So I tried making the tortillas smaller and not so thin…

Coconut Pancake  Paleo Pancake

Success!  While I was really looking forward to wrapping up my chicken in a “tortilla”, I ended up putting the tortilla onto my plate and dumping the chicken with enchilada sauce on top.  I also piled on the cauliflower rice and avocado to round out the meal.  It turned out to be tasty and hit the spot.  But I probably won’t be making these little guys again though!

Today’s Chow

  • Meal 1 – Sauteed kale, 2 eggs, bacon and olive scramble thing, coffee with coconut sugar – ran out of coconut milk 😦
  • Meal 2 – leftover beef roast, banana with sunflower butter (weird combination but I was in a hurry)
  • While out shopping and running errands – tall blonde from Starbucks (I felt odd ordering that!)
  • Post workout – more beef and a “tortilla” because I was trying to get dinner ready and needed to eat
  • Meal 3 – coconut tortilla, enchilada chicken, cauliflower rice, avocado
  • While making Dark Chocolate Bark…handful of macadamia nuts, a couple walnuts and a dried cherry or two, plus a couple licks of dark chocolate from the mixing bowl…I couldn’t let it go to waste!

Today’s Workout ( I am following The New Rules of Lifting for Women and just started back with the beginning workouts, so no laughing at the weights I am lifting.  I’m working on it!)

  • Dead lifts 2 x 12 @75 lb.
  • Dumbbell shoulder press 2 x 12 @ 15 lb.  superset with Wide grip lat pull down 2 x 12 @ 60 lb.
  • Lunges 2 x 12 @ 30 lb. (2 15 lb. dumbbells) superset with Weighted crunches 2 x 10 @ 8 lb.
  • 1 round of intervals 10 seconds rest/20 seconds work (total of 8 sets for 4 minute workout) – I alternated between rope waves and mountain climbers
Leave a Reply

