Tales of A Paleo Mom

Just Another Manic Monday…

on March 26, 2013

It is a short work week, so I was excited driving in to school today.  Only four short days and then Spring Break.  Unfortunately, once my class walked in, I quickly realized that it was going to be a long four days.  For some reason, they are just being mean to each other and I am having to talk to the whole class constantly about feelings and bullying when we are supposed to be learning.  My teammate and I joked that if we called in sick the rest of the week we would make up the days during our week off.  Only I wasn’t joking…it sounded like a perfect idea to me!

To add to my delightful Monday, my dinner tonight was not so good.  I hate when that happens.  The “paleo” Swedish meatballs came out fine, but the sauce for the rest of the gang never thickened up.  Oh well…it happens to everyone right?  The meal wasn’t bad, but I won’t be making it with that sauce again.  I  apologized to everyone at the dinner table for the meal.   Much to my surprise, my kids complimented me on the meatballs which they had no idea contained almond flour instead of bread crumbs!  I love when they eat something they really enjoy and have no idea it is a better food choice for them.  Moms have to be sneaky like that sometimes.

On a happy note, I just shared some of my Dark Chocolate Bark with my husband and he looked at me and asked, “You really made this?”  I don’t know if he meant it, but it was what I needed to hear after a day like today.  I have already had two pieces and will be having at least one more with my cup of decaf.  Perfect ending to a crappy day!

Image

Dark Chocolate Bark

What you need…

1 3-4 oz. dark chocolate bar, broken into small chucks (I like Theo 85% dark chocolate.  It doesn’t contain soy lecithin.)

1 Tb. coconut oil

1 Tb. sunflower butter

2 Tb. dried cherries (I used Bing cherries from Trader Joe’s.)

3 Tb. mixed nuts of choice (I used macadamia and walnuts.)

 What you do…

  1. Melt chocolate in microwave safe dish in 30 second intervals.  After the first 30 seconds, add the coconut oil and stir.  Continue microwaving for 30 seconds, checking and stirring until the chocolate has melted.  It took three times for the chocolate to be completely melted.
  2. Add the sunflower butter and stir.
  3. Add the cherries and nuts. Stir until well combined.
  4. Pour into an 8 x 8 inch dish lined with parchment paper or wax paper.
  5. Place in the freezer.  Lick the bowl clean….don’t want to waste any chocolate!
  6. After the chocolate has hardened, remove from pan and break into chunks.

I have mine stored in the freezer and they are perfect.

I am thinking about trying to make clusters, so I will leave out the coconut oil and add more goodies to the mix.  The bark can be made with so many different combinations of dried fruits and nuts, with or without the nut butter, and maybe even sprinkled with a little sea salt before putting in the freezer to set.  Get creative!

Today’s Chow

  • Meal 1 – 2 eggs with spinach cooked in coconut oil, 3/4 of an apple my daughter didn’t finish, and coffee with coconut milk and coconut sugar
  • Meal 2 – leftover chicken “enchilada” with cauliflower rice and half an avocado
  • PreWO – blueberry Lara bar
  • Meal 3 – Paleo Swedish meatballs (with no sauce) and green beans sauteed with olive oil and garlic
  • Snack – dark chocolate bark (so far 2 but I am sure that is going to increase), decaf coffee with coconut milk and coconut sugar

Today’s Workout

  • 3.4 run in approximately 32-33 minutes – I had to stop at the crosswalk and wait for the light to flip.
2 responses to “Just Another Manic Monday…

  1. […] Just Another Manic Monday… Mar […]

  2. […] festivities.  We ate dinner and then I made a batch of Dark Chocolate Clusters (same recipe as Dark Chocolate Bark but I omitted the oil, walnuts, and nut butter and spooned batches onto waxed paper). So not really […]

Leave a Reply

