Tales of A Paleo Mom

SPRING BREAK…finally!

on March 30, 2013

It has been a couple of busy days.  No need to rehash them especially since they were not particularly great days filled with events I don’t necessarily want to remember.  Nothing horrible…just a couple of “those days”.  My eating was pretty good considering I usually eat whatever I can get my hands on when I get stressed.  My mother in law made oven fried chicken on Thursday night which was fried in oil then baked in the oven.  I ate pieces with the batter taken off.  There was also a potato bake dish and I couldn’t pass up potatoes…today I am wishing I had passed on those potatoes.  Oh well, yet another reminder why I try and eat paleo most of the time.

Today was a GREAT day!  No work! I still had to wake up to take Sarah to school and then came home to get Joey ready.   After I dropped him off at school, my sister jogged over to my house and we went for a 30ish minute jog.  I sat around searching for recipes and then headed to shower.  I treated myself to a pedi and got my eyebrows waxed.  I wandered around the mall for a little while and picked up a couple of things.  Then it was time to pick up the kids from school, and we made a quick stop for dinner stuff for Taco Salad (change in plan since my mother in law wasn’t feeling well but said that Taco Salad sounded good).  Once we got home, I baked a loaf of the most delicious lemon bread I have ever tasted, cooked up the ground beef for dinner, and hard boiled eggs for Easter festivities.  We ate dinner and then I made a batch of Dark Chocolate Clusters (same recipe as Dark Chocolate Bark but I omitted the oil, walnuts, and nut butter and spooned batches onto waxed paper). So not really the same recipe but close enough…I am addicted to these and need help!

Lemon

But getting back to the lemon bread.  We have a little Meyer lemon tree.  The picture is of an actual lemon on our little tree taken by my daughter. (She is my blog photographer!)  It had quite a few lemons on it which we had to pick since the little tree looked like it was in pain trying to keep the limbs up with the lemons barely hanging on.  The lemons have been sitting in the kitchen, and I had been searching for a recipe with the hopes of finding something I could serve Easter morning to the gang.  I was originally going to make a bundt cake which I would not have eaten because it would have been full of tummy irritating items.  I stumbled upon a new blog I had never visited, Primally Inspired.  I was reading through the recipe page when I found what I was looking for but hadn’t really been looking for!  No Grains Delicious Lemon Bread with A Lemon Glaze.  I quickly whipped up a batch and popped it into the oven.  I chose to make it using coconut milk and coconut oil to keep it dairy free.  While it was baking away in the oven, I made the glaze.  After 40 minutes in the oven, the bread was golden brown and ready to come out.  I poured the glaze on and stuck it in the fridge.  I patiently waited the suggested 60 minutes before cutting myself a small piece.  OH MY GAWD!  It was moist and lemony and bready and soooo good.  I was eager to share the deliciousness and quickly cut a piece for my husband.  I watched thinking he would love it, but he didn’t.  He took one bite and had to follow it with a huge gulp of soda (don’t get me started on that rant!).  While I was disappointed that he didn’t love it, secretly I was jumping up and down because that means I get to enjoy a treat all to myself and I don’t have to share or worry about everyone else eating it all.  Why didn’t my hubby like it??? Because he is weird!  Just kidding….kind of…..he said it was moist and had a good texture, but the coconut flavor was too strong for him.  (He has eaten other baked goodies with coconut flour and never said anything!)  Maybe if I am feeling nice, I will try it again but use butter instead of coconut oil and whole milk instead of coconut milk.

No Grains Delicious Lemon Bread with A Lemon Glaze

Today’s Chow…

  • Meal 1:  coffee with coconut milk and coconut sugar, 2 eggs with kale
  • Meal 2:  apple with sunbutter, asparagus wrapped up in Applegate ham
  • Snacked on grapes and lemon bread while making dinner 😦
  • Meal 3:  tortilla chips and salsa (I Love Mexican Food!), taco salad with salsa for dressing, more lemon bread (couldn’t waste what the husband didn’t like)
  • Not really a meal….coffee with coconut milk and coconut sugar, 2 Dark Chocolate Clusters

Today’s Workout…

  • 30ish minute run with my sister
Leave a Reply

