Tales of A Paleo Mom

WOD #2 – Cindy and Weekly Menu 4/21/13

on April 22, 2013

So we ventured to the “box” again on Saturday morning bright and early at 7 am.  My friend and I were looking forward to our second workout.  Things started off the same with a warm-up run and then some stretching.  In the middle of stretching, the “Crossfit dude” announced it was open gym and you get to pick your workout.  Ummmmm…wtf?  I have done one workout.  Really?

My friend and I looked at each other as others are announcing the names of their workouts.  The others were messing around.  The guy leading wasn’t the most helpful even knowing that this was only our second day.  He told us to look in the binder at women’s workouts.  We quickly turned page after page looking for a workout we could complete and finally agreed on Cindy which consists of 5 pull-ups, 10 push-ups, and 15 air squats (we discovered mid-workout) AMRAP for 20 minutes.  Neither my friend or I can do a pull-up so we figured out how to get a band on the pull-up bar to help us.  That was funny I am sure watching us try and get out foot onto the band without sling-shooting ourselves across the room.

Then all of the sudden it was time to start.  We are going through the written exercises and I decide I should use a 20 lb. ball for the squats since the written workout just said “15 squats”.  The “dude” comes over and is correcting us telling us all the things we were doing wrong (no weight for squats, hit the floor with your chest in push-ups, extend your arms fully during the pull-ups, etc.).  My friend and I agreed he probably thought we were idiots, but seriously…it was our second day.  Tthe first workout was super easy (verses what we were thinking it was going to be) and everything was fully explained or modeled for us.

Cindy was a bitch.  We barely made the 20 minutes and I think we completed 6 rounds.  Neither one of us was really counting – we were just trying to survive the workout.  I am definitely feeling the workouts.  That’s a good thing but I am praying there are no pull-ups or push-ups in tomorrow’s WOD.  We will be hitting the “box” at 6:00 am unless the alarm clock forgets to go off 😉

My diet has been much improved except for lunch with the girls yesterday which included wine, 7 and 7, and a bit of beer were consumed along with a deep fried pickle <—–That was actually tasty. I don’t feel bad because we were celebrating me entering middle age and I feel pretty good for being 40!

Today’s Chow (not enough food or green veggies but that’s an easy fix)

  • Meal 1 – 2 hard boiled eggs, coffee with coconut milk
  • Meal 2 – In and Out protein style burger, 1/2 a ripe banana with nut butter
  • Meal 3 – carrots with avocado, rosemary garlic almonds and pistachios (yummy!)
  • Meal 4 – grass fed skirt steak with sea salt and pepper, drumstick with olive oil, sea salt, and pepper, asparagus, salad with balsamic dressing
  • Snack – a little piece of dark chocolate and a bite of pineapple while packing lunches

Today’s WOD

  • Rest day…thank goodness!

This week’s menu…

  • Sunday – Skirt steak with chive butter
  • Monday – Chicken skewers
  • Tuesday – burgers and dogs
  • Wednesday – TBD (my mother-in-law’s night)
  • Thursday – Chicken Piccata…hopefully new recipe to come after this 🙂
  • Friday –  ?
Leave a Reply

