Tales of A Paleo Mom

WOD #3

on April 23, 2013

We survived our third workout and I loved it again.  The gal who runs the gym was the coach and she made sure to explain and demonstrate everything and even checked in on us beginners to make sure we were doing things right.  The actual workout today wasn’t too bad other than trying to get down the movement for a push jerk (I think that’s what it is called!).  Since we haven’t trained with the bar, we were using dumbbells.  We did presses – those were fine.  We did push presses – got those down fairly easy.  Then came the push jerks – not pretty folks.  We really slowed down the movement and I only banged the side of my head  once with the dumbbells…lol.  By the end, I think I got the movement down without pausing too much but not totally sure.  It looks easier with the barbell but I could be totally wrong.

The warm up before the workout is what got me.  We did stations – 5 burpees, 10 sit ups, 10 slam balls (I love these!) and box jumps (various sizes).  To move from station to station, we lunged our way over.  We did AMRAP for 7 minutes.  It wasn’t a hard workout but all the lunges had my legs burning and I am TERRIFIED to do box jumps.  This feeling was confirmed when one of the gals slammed her shin into the box and limped away to get an ice pack bandaged to her leg.  OUCH!  So I only did jumps on the little box and then stepped up on to the two bigger boxes. At home tonight, I practiced jumping up the stairs (probably not the best idea) two at a time.  Something to work on.

Today’s Chow…

  • Meal 1 – 2 hard boiled eggs, mixed fruit (pineapple, blackberries, strawberries and grapefruit…mmmmm)
  • Meal 2 – shredded pork, carrots and bell peppers with Spicy Wholy Guacamole, and the rest of my fruit
  • Nuts and more nuts and more nuts while making dinner, and a few olives were ingested.
  • Meal 3 – a bit of leftover steak and some bbq chicken, broccoli
  • Snack – dark chocolate, decaf coffee with coconut milk

GOT greens?  Definitely notice the lack of green leafy veggies in those meals.  I will be adding spinach and kale to tomorrow’s mix 🙂  And I will no longer be purchasing the nuts I mentioned in an earlier post.  While I loved them, I WAY overeat them and they aren’t cheap but damn they are tasty!  They may make an appearance once in a while as a treat 🙂

Today’s WOD…

  • 600 m. warm up jog
  • stretching
  • Warm up with stations (5 burpees, 10 sit ups, 10 slam balls, box jumps (various heights) with lunging to next station AMRAP for 7 minutes
  • Workout – 1 press, 3 push press, 5 push jerk – 7 rounds (started with 12 lb first set, 15 lb. all other sets)
  • Ab work – plank 1 minute, side plank 30 seconds each side THEN leg lifts, weighted twists, bicycyle , rest all for 30 seconds each for a total of 3 rounds
Leave a Reply

