Tales of A Paleo Mom

There’s Something About Mary

on April 24, 2013

Move over Cindy there’s a new bitch in town!

I looked up Girl Crossfit WODs online but too many are not an option yet since I can’t do most of the moves yet (or that’s my excuse I am going with).   I was going to do “Mary” since my sister is named Mary and the workout looked doable.  I copied the workout into my log book and was ready for the challenge.  That was a dumb thought.  Really dumb.  After trying one handstand push up (with two attempts to do a handstand against the wall and only lowering my body about 1/2 of an inch), I quickly decided my head making contact with the pavement was unavoidable and that wouldn’t be pretty and would be embarrassing to explain a giant goose egg on my head.  (Side note:  I did at least put a yoga mat under my head so there was a little cushion just in case the attempt went bad.)  So I tweaked Mary for my wimpy body and made up my own workout.  I don’t know a thing about creating a workout, so I have no idea if it is a good workout or not.  I did it and it kicked my butt.  Which actually isn’t saying very much..all workouts seem to kick my butt lately.

I found this today and can’t stop thinking about it….Simple Blueberry Lemon Birthday Cake.  Who doesn’t like birthday cake?  Everyone loves birthday cake 🙂  Well, my nine year old doesn’t and that’s weird-especially for a kid.  Especially lemony, blueberry-y, won’t-make-my-belly-hurt-unless-I-eat-the-whole-thing-in-one-sitting cake.  And from the looks of the cake, the bellyache would be totally worth it!  Mmmmmm with a cup of coffee for breakfast.  Yes please!

Todays’ Chow…

  • Meal 1 – leftover chicken skewers with spinach (<——greens!), and a little bit of pineapple, grapefruit, blackberries and strawberries
  • Meal 2 – leftover pulled pork, carrots and mini bell peppers with avocado, rest of my fruit
  • Post WO – hard boiled egg, and I ate about 10 Greek olives while making dinner
  • Meal 3 – hamburger, kale (<—– more greens!), carrots
  • Meal 4 – decaf coffee with coconut milk, dark chocolate and one small, teeny, tiny bite of nuts

Today’s Workout…

  • Warm up – jogged the block (which felt about the length of the 600 m. run we do), stretching
  • Single leg glute bridge with foot on bench 3 sets of 15 each leg…gotta work on that pancake butt my daughter refers to…lovely…
  • Workout…20 minutes AMRAP of 5 pull-ups (with band for me), 10 pistols (5 per leg were all I could crank out and I was holding onto the weight bench for help…those suckers are challenging!), and 15 pike push-ups

It left me sweaty and breathing heavy after completing 7 rounds and 4 pull-ups.  I took a couple quick water breaks and a few breaks during the pistols and push-ups to wiggle out my aching muscles.

Leave a Reply

