Tales of A Paleo Mom

Zucchini Pasta with Sausage, Artichokes and Sun-dried Tomatoes

on October 24, 2013

So it has been a little while since I have written anything…I’m a crappy blogger.  I want to be good at it, but I just don’t think I have that in me.  Oh well…

Workouts have changed since I last posted.  I am no longer doing Crossfit.  It was fun while it lasted, but I am actually enjoying my current workouts more.  I am following the workouts from Strong Curves by Bret Contreras and Kellie Davis.  I did the beginner program off and on for the summer and just jumped into the Gluteal Goddess program…hoping for a nice booty…one can dream right 🙂   I am working out on the side of our house at 5:30 am.  It’s not too cold out yet, but who knows how long this workout plan will work on things get chilly.  And I am super stoked because I can do a big girl chin up with no band!  My goal is to be able to do 5 by summer.  Seems doable.

Moving onto what I have been eating…that has been a disaster of sorts, and I pay for it every time I make a poor food choice.  I am considering doing a 21 day sugar detox – since I have been eating sugary treats like there’s no tomorrow.  I sort of feel like I should stop eating crap and start eating healthy, real food.  It can be challenging in a house of SAD eaters…temptation of sorts all around.  Oh ya…no one but myself is eating “paleo” anymore 😦  They kiddos are still eating lots of veggies, fruits, and good meats, but they are eating lots of gluten, sugary foods.  They love their bread and pasta.

My mom fixed a non-paleo version of this using penne pasta, and my family raved about how delicious it was. I felt a little left out and decided to make a batch for our family and serve mine over zucchini noodles.  It was yummy!

Zucchini Pasta with Sausage, Artichokes and Sun-dried Tomatoes:

3/4 cup drained oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, sliced

2 Tb. of oil reserved from sun-dried tomatoes

1 lb. Italian sausage, casings removed (hot or mild)

2 (8oz.) packages frozen artichokes hearts, thawed

2 large garlic cloves, chopped

1 3/4 cups reduced sodium chicken broth

1/2 cup white wine

salt

3 large zucchinis, cut into long thin strips (I used my mandoline.)

1/2- 1 cup shredded Parmesan cheese, grated (optional)

1/3 cup chopped basil

1/4 cup chopped parsley

2 oz. mozzarella cheese (optional)

Heat oil reserved from tomatoes in a large, heavy frying pan over medium-high heat. Add the sausage and cook until brown, breaking up the meat into bite-size pieces with a fork, about 8 minutes. Transfer the sausage to a bowl. Add the artichokes and garlic to the same skillet and saute over medium heat until the garlic is tender, about 2 minutes. Add the broth, wine and sun-dried tomatoes. Boil over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the sauce reduces slightly, about 8 minutes.

Add the zucchini “pasta”, sausage, 1/2 cup (or more) Parmesan cheese, basil and parsley to the artichoke mixture. Toss until the sauce is almost absorbed by the pasta and the zucchini is warmed up.

Enjoy!

I was too lazy to make noodles, so I just it without the zucchini noodles!

I was too lazy to make noodles on this night, so I just ate it without them!  Still delish!

*I haven’t tried it, but you could probably also serve it over spaghetti squash.

One response to “Zucchini Pasta with Sausage, Artichokes and Sun-dried Tomatoes

  1. […] Tuesday:  Sausage, Artichokes, and Sun-dried Tomatoes with Pasta (zucchini pasta for me) […]

Leave a Reply

