Tales of A Paleo Mom

#TBH

on November 1, 2013

To be honest…where to start…

Here is a post I just realized I never posted last weekend….

I woke up with the goal of taming the sugar beast today.  I planned on fasting since I ate a crap load of sugary, belly-aching treats last night.  I am amazed that I was able to sleep.  Fasting went fine…coffee with just a touch of coconut milk blended in my Bullet.  Mmmmmm…look forward to that every morning.  Then I had leftover spaghetti squash quiche and Greek yogurt with some seed/coconut mix thing for lunch.  I ate a green tipped banana in the late afternoon.  AND….then all hell broke lose once I walked in the door at home.  Sugar.  Sugar.  Sugar.  AND.more.sugar.  Ughhhh!  What the heck?  It was out of control.  Oh and then I ate dinner…steak fajitas with bell peppers and onions.

So tomorrow is really the day.  I really don’t see any other way than to commit to something, so 21 day sugar detox it is.  Off to do some prep work.  Meal planning and being prepared is a must!  Be back tomorrow with a plan!

Well..the sugar detox…yea…that lasted a day.  And my eating has been out.of.control.  Things I would not normally eat are finding their way into my mouth.  It is gross.  I am surprised I am not doubled over or running to the bathroom every 5 minutes (TMI)  but really it has been that bad.  My sleep is all messed up and my face looks worse than my 13 year old hormonal daughter.  It  makes me a grumpy b—-.

What really makes me feel angry is that I have been pretty consistent with working out.  I do the Strong Curves workouts four days which is perfect and I love the workouts.  On the off days, I try to do other activities (walk/jog or HIIT)  if I feel like it which I haven’t since I have been eating crap.  This will become a vicious cycle eventually leading to me not working out at all and eating crap.  Then I get all angry with myself.  This happens especially around this time of year.  It is definitely not a healthy food relationship.  Working hard to sabotage myself with my diet. D.U.M.B.

And I think I am a sugar addict!  Is there such a thing!?

Well, tomorrow is November 1st, and what better time to get this crazy eating under control.  I tend to do better to when I start at the beginning of the month.  While I am not going to go super crazy and do a 21 DSD or Whole 30 just yet, I am going to start getting back to eating real, whole foods (I sound like a broken record!)  FOR.REAL.

Game Plan:

  1. Meal planning
  2. Meal prepping
  3. Eating enough
  4. Eating more carbs (wondering if I am not getting enough especially on workout days)?
  5. Managing stress better (how!?!?…no idea yet.  TBD.)
  6. Doing the “red x” calendar again

redx

So that’s it. Off to meal prep for a successful day one!

Leave a Reply

