Tales of A Paleo Mom

I’m A Quitter Too!

on November 4, 2013

I’m all over the place with my feelings on food lately.  I know that I just posted the other night about cleaning up my diet and getting back on track.  Definitely nothing restrictive as that leads to bad things eventually.  I did fine the first part of Friday (which was day 1).  Once I got home from work, I started reading from my favorite “Paleo” blogs and was shocked when I read Health-Bent’s post, “I’m a Quitter!”  I actually felt some relief when I read the post as well.  I clicked on several of the links to see what support she was providing for the statements found on the post.  The rest of the days eats were fine until after dinner which I devoured two sugar cookies and three Halloween pieces of candy.  And guess what…while I knew that it was a bit much (definitely not as bad as the nights before!), I was okay with it and was able to feel satisfied.

I have been “paleoish” for a little more than a year and a half.  It has been an interesting journey.   My family joined the journey for a short period of time ; that was difficult trying to meet everyone’s requests and listen to my daughter moan and groan about not fitting in with the other kids at school.  My parents even changed their eating for a while as well.  In the end,  I was the only one who stuck with it for the most part – being obsessive about it at times.  I have definitely “cheated” and enjoyed non-paleo foods and drinks during this time.  But ultimately, the “diet” is feeling restrictive and, at times, I am not satisfied which leads to the overindulgence and binge eating.

I am so thankful for being introduced to the paleo lifestyle.  It has definitely brought about positive changes. I am more aware of the foods that I am putting into my body and am feeding my family.  I purchase organic foods when I can and read labels for funky ingredients.  I have started eating foods I never had tried before and have learned to love some that I hated before.  I have learned that I can lift heavy weights and even Crossfitted for three months (LOVED IT!).  But the most important part of this change has been accepting my body and appreciating the things I am capable of doing.  I am not obsessing over my weight which I used to weigh myself daily.  I don’t know when the last time I stepped on the scale was and have no idea what I currently weigh.  🙂

But after reading the post mentioned above, I have realized that I am feeling restricted by trying to follow a paleo diet.  I don’t want to follow any diet.  I just want to eat real food that I have made and feel satisfied, so I can stop binging and can enjoy food.  This doesn’t mean I am running to the bread basket and making myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  It doesn’t mean that tomorrow morning I am driving to the neighborhood donut shop.  It doesn’t mean that I am going to abandoned everything I have learned over the past year and a half.

So what is going to change?

  • I am not going to label my way of eating.
  • I am going to eat when I am hungry.
  • I am going to reintroduce gluten free grains.
  • I am going to eat dairy (grassfed/raw/organic dairy in the form of yogurt, cheese, and cottage cheese).
  • I am wondering if veggies are causing me to feel bloated or causing some tummy trouble.  Will be watching and changing as needed.
  • I am not going to feel guilty if I indulge once in a while (weekly even?) in a treat or meal like nachos (mmmm..my fav!).

What’s not going to change?

  • I am going to continue to eat organic, real food.
  • I am going to continue to prepare the majority of our family’s meals.
  • I am going to continue to fix our favorite dishes I have learned to love the past year and a half.
  • I am going to continue to lift heavy things.
  • I am going to continue to not obsess about my weight.

So that’s basically it for now.  I will continue to post foods I am preparing, but they will not be strict paleo…instead they will be healthy, real foods 🙂

Leave a Reply

