Tales of A Paleo Mom

Pumpkin Granola

on November 4, 2013

I did our meal planning for the week.  Here’s what’s on the menu and the tweaks I will be making for mine if necessary:

  • Sunday – Pasta Skillet Dinner (my sauce will be served over spaghetti squash)
  • Monday – Chicken Rollatini (mine will not be rolled in bread crumbs)
  • Tuesday – Asian Glazed Steak with roasted red potatoes
  • Wednesday – Kalua Pig with slaw (family will eat buns and I am thinking about having a bit of white rice!)
  • Thursday – Chicken Pesto Bake

I am still steering clear of gluten. I walked through Trader Joe’s today and saw my beloved granola that I haven’t touched in over a year.  I grabbed the box and anxiously read the label only to find that it contained wheat….<sad face>.  So I decided to whip up a batch of my own using real ingredients.  Then…I realized that rolled oats, which I am super excited to eat again, can be cross contaminated, so I need to pick up some “new” oats now.  Quaker can not confidently state that theirs are gluten free (info here).  The batch of granola I made did use Quaker Quick Oats because we have a giant container of them which need to get used up. Bummer!  Next time, I will pick up some that are sure to be gluten free.

PUMPKIN GRANOLA (adapted from  Skinny Pumpkin Granola)

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/4 cup quinoa, rinsed and patted dry
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats (your choice about gluten free or not)
  • 1/4 cup pecans, chopped into pieces
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries, chopped
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed meal
  • 2 TB pepitas (I did not have any, so I used hemp seed instead.  You can sub any seed here of your choice.)
  • 2 TB chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup honey or maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp. coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

What to do…

  1. Preheat oven to 325.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Spread oats and rinsed quinoa onto parchment paper.  Bake in oven approximately 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl combine pecans, cranberries, flaxseed, pepitas and chia seeds.  Set aside.
  3. In a smaller mixing bowl, combine honey, pumpkin, coconut oil, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon and vanilla.
  4. Once the quinoa and oats are done, remove from oven and add to pecan mixture.  Stir to mix.
  5. Turn oven down to 300.
  6. Add honey mixture to the oats and stir to combine.  Make sure the honey mixture is well distributed.
  7. Spread mixture onto cookie sheet again.  Bake in oven for approximately 20 minutes.  You want to bake it until it is golden brown.
  8. Enjoy with some Greek yogurt, cottage cheese, almond milk or even by itself (that’s my favorite way!)
Won't be lasting long!

Won’t be lasting long!

Leave a Reply

