Tales of A Paleo Mom

My Primal Pal

on November 12, 2013

Dinner time is hectic in our house! My husband works swings but wants to eat dinner with the family, so we set a time in hopes that he will be able to make it.  My daughter has comp soccer three out of the five weeknights which I drive the carpool two of the nights to practice.  In order to get dinner on the table and my daughter fed before we have to leave, I need to have my crap together.   Last minute dinner plans on the way home from work aren’t going to cut it!  AND to add to the already hectic schedule, it is parent teacher conference time – so for the next week and a half I will be at school until close to 5:00 pm most nights.  If I don’t plan and prep for the week, it is a food disaster waiting to happen!

Enter Primal Pal!

While I was supposed to be filling out conference sheets for each of my darling 33 students, I decided it was a better idea to meal plan.  (I am an expert procrastinator!)  I remembered that I had purchased the Harvest Your Health package and decided to look at some of the meal plans that I could sign up for.  Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on how you look at it), several of the links/codes were not working and some had expired already.  I finally got Primal Pal to work and am SO HAPPY I did.

It made meal planning a cinch!  The hardest part was looking through all the yummy recipes and deciding which ones I wanted to try first!  I love that I could set my preferences-especially since the rest of the family hates fish and I only do occasional dairy.  I originally set out to just find dinner recipes, but I loved the way it was set up so much that I even planned breakfasts and lunch for myself for a couple of days.  While there were a few meals I came across that my family wouldn’t eat, most of the recipes were family friendly or could be tweaked just a bit to be so.

Even better…it made my grocery list which the quantity needed for each item, and I could check off the items I already have in stock! I then emailed myself the list and was ready to go.  I have tried grocery list apps and things before and this one is the best I have come across IMO.

BUT the best part…its free for the first 10 days.  It gives me plenty of time to test things out and see if it will really work for my family.  The price after that ranges from 9.99 a month to 89.99 a year and is worth it for me to have my planning and grocery list done with a couple of clicks.  It is money well spent to have everything planned….too bad they can’t do the shopping too!

So our meals this week…

  • Monday:  Bacon Wrapped Mini Meatloaves (I tweaked the recipe a bit and used breadcrumbs for the other family members and almond meal in mine.)
  • Tuesday:  Roasted Balsamic Chicken
  • Wednesday:  my MIL is preparing dinner – Rump Roast
  • Thursday:  Honey Dijon Crockpot Chicken
  • Friday:  We talked about doing sushi, but I have a pizza tart on the meal plan.

Breakfasts for me will be paleo bread toast or sandwiches with a fried egg and bacon or apple pumpkin latkes.  Lunches will include leftovers from dinner (if any) or Chopped Salad with Honey Bacon Dressing (super excited about this lunch!) or pizza chili.

Off to make paleo bread and a chocolate paleo snack cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

