Tales of A Paleo Mom

Counting My Blessings

on November 28, 2013

give thanksThe other day on my 14 minute jog I started to think about all the things I should be thankful for.  It made me realize how much I take for granted and that I really need to appreciate all I have.  I thought specifically about the last year and about all the craziness that took place.  Here are some that topped the list…

I am thankful for our family and friends. We are lucky to have all of our family and close friends living so close to us and get to see everyone on a regular basis.  (Not sure my husband agrees on this one ;))

I am thankful that my family has a house to live in.  Not just a house, but we are currently shacking up with my mother-in-law after losing our house in February.  While it sucks that this happened and it definitely has its challenges, it has turned out to be a good thing for all.

I am thankful for two healthy kids. We had two health scares with my son being admitted into emergency for severe asthma episodes this year.  It is scary because he is not asthmatic but has episodes and he doesn’t realize it is happening.  Fortunately, we have it a bit more under control after Episode 2. We also had a health scare with my daughter.  She decided to eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich which resulted in a minor allergic reaction.  She has always stayed away from peanuts or anything containing peanuts, so we figured we would just continue to do the same and avoid them.  Then, while in Mexico in June, she ate something and had the same reaction but ended up vomiting and having some difficulty breathing.  After that, I knew we couldn’t fool around any more.  She tested positive for a peanut allergy.  We now have an epipen.

I am thankful that I have a job.  I have been pink slipped the last two years and never thought at 40 years old I would have to worry about job stability.

I am thankful that I got to try Crossfit.  It helped me see that I am a strong individual and capable of a lot more than I had given myself credit for.  It got me started on starting to lift REAL weight (no more Barbie weights).

I am thankful for being introduced to “paleo” almost two years ago by my husband’s coworker.  It has taught me so much about healthy food choices and about eating REAL food.  Eating real food has shown me how much better I can feel.  It really is a lifestyle for me now and not a “diet”.  While I said that I am quitting just recently, I really haven’t quit which has proven that it is my lifestyle now and not some diet that I follow.

a-charlie-brown-thanksgiving-original1

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 responses to “Counting My Blessings

  1. Val says:

    Good for you for seeing the positive in all the hardship. Wishing you a very Happy (uneventful) Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

