Tales of A Paleo Mom

Much Needed R & R

on November 28, 2013

The school district I teach in takes the full week off for Thanksgiving.  It is a much needed break after being thrown into teaching Common Core with no materials and conferencing with 33 families over the last week and a half.  I walked out of the building at 5:30 pm on Friday and haven’t picked up or looked at anything school related.  It has been nice and is a much needed break.

Even better, my kids DID have school the last three days.  I know that sounds horrible to some people, and it probably is horrible.  BUT it was so nice to be able to do whatever I wanted between the hours of 9:00-2:30.  I still woke up at 6:30 am to prepare breakfast for my daughter and pack both kids’ lunches.  I still drove my daughter and her friend to school at 7:20 am.  I was able to take my son to school which I very rarely get to do since he starts at 8:55 am and I have to be at work by 8:00 am.  Once the kids were at school, I.did.absolutely.nothing.

That is actually a lie.  I did laundry, grocery shopping, went to Target one morning, made the mistake of going to Costco one day, got my hair cut and highlighted (finally, has only been since June!), and got a pedicure.  I also worked out on Monday and Wednesday, and I even went for a 30 minute walk/jog.  I jogged for 14 minutes and the rest was walking.  There is something about being able to chose when I want to do laundry or go to the grocery store that has made this week so much less stressful!

I did no meal planning this week which usually results in horrible things being eaten or worse-we eat out.  I am proud to say that neither one of those things happened this week.  We had butterflied, roasted chicken on Sunday, mini meatloaves on Monday, BBQ ribs and chicken on Tuesday, and tonight was BBQ burgers.  Adventures in the kitchen included making homemade, raw cashew butter (I even soaked and toasted the cashews), then using the cashew butter in a loaf of the best sandwich bread, and baking up a batch of Real-Deal Chocolate Chip Cookies (both the bread and cookie recipes are from Against All Grain).

The cookies are off the hook!  My 10 year old son and husband both loved them.  I quote,”These are better than regular cookies!”  If you haven’t been to Against All Grain, I suggest you go check it out.  Not only does Danielle have many, many recipes on her blog, but she also has a cookbook that is well worth the money.  The recipes are family friendly and super duper yummy!

I am reposting her cookie recipe from her website and have added what I did differently when I fixed my first batch.  I will definitely be making these again and again.  Enjoy!

Real Deal Chocolate Chip Cookies  from Against All Grain

What you need…

  • 1/4 c. palm shortening (I used softened Kerrygold butter instead.)
  • 1 egg at room temperature
  • 1/4 c. coconut crystals
  • 2 TB. honey
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c. blanched almond flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill because it is what I had on hand, but I would recommend getting an almond flour that is less grainy in texture.)
  • 2 TB. coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 c. dark chocolate chip chucks (I used the ones from Enjoy Life and did not chop them up.  Next time, I am going to either use a dark chocolate bar and chop that up or chop up the chunks a bit.)
  • 1/4 c. Enjoy Life chocolate chips (or other dairy-free chocolate chips)

What to do…

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place shortening or softened butter and egg into a food processor and process for 15 seconds.  (I did mine in my stand up mixer and the cookies came out fine.)
  3. Add the coconut crystals, honey and vanilla.  Process until combines.
  4. Add the flours, baking soda, and salt.  Process again until combined.  If necessary, scrape the sides and process until everything is combined.
  5. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.
  6. Scoop tablespoon sized balls of dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  Flatten the dough lightly until about 1/2 inch thick.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes or until the cookies are browned around the edges.  Cool on a wire rack.
  8. If there are any left, store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  I’m guessing they won’t last that long!

I am taking some of my baking with me to Aptos tomorrow.  My parents have rented a beach house there, and the family will be gathering there for Thanksgiving dinner.  We will be hanging out there with my parents and my sister and my brother-in-law until Sunday.  Looking forward to some family time at the beach!

Leave a Reply

