Tales of A Paleo Mom

Glazed Carrots

on December 18, 2013

Three days!  It is going to be a LONG three days.  I am counting down the days until winter break.  This has been a tough school year, and the break is much needed!

So…several weeks ago, I stated that I was “quitting Paleo”.  When I said I quit, I really meant that I was going to be less strict and was putting items like oatmeal and quinoa back into my diet.  Nothing crazy but felt like the way I was eating was restrictive to some degree.  Guess what?  I am not a quitter!  My eating is back to paleo/primal without me even thinking about it.  I think I ventured off my regular eating once or twice!  It is sort of strange because it really has been a lifestyle.  It was never about a “diet’ for me but more about healing my stomach.  I am not super strict and still include things like grassfed dairy, raw cheese, or (gasp) a potato or white rice now and again.  I just realized that not only is it important to eat healthy foods that don’t irritate my stomach, but it is also really important to enjoy what I am eating because that is when things go bad!

Speaking of enjoying foods, I have been eating quite a few treats and found a link for a free dessert recipe book in my in box this morning!  Merry Early Christmas to me!  And to you too now because I am sharing the link with you!  Check out this link for a FREE paleo dessert recipe book. (I only skimmed the book, but a couple recipes caught my eye.)  It is a Kindle book, so you need a Kindle or the Kindle app to read it.

I had carrots from Trader Joe’s in the fridge hanging out for a while and decided that we needed to eat them a couple nights ago.  There was a recipe on the bag that I tweaked a little bit, and it still came out delish!  My son, who didn’t even want to try them, went back for seconds.  They will definitely be part of our veggie rotation.

Glazed Candy Carrots

What you need

  • 1 pound organic carrots, sliced into 1/4 inch thick disks
  • 1 1/2 TB butter
  • 2 TB orange juice
  • 2 TB maple syrup
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • sprinkle of cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste

What to do…

  1. Melt butter over medium heat in a large skillet.
  2. Once melted, add the maple syrup, orange juice, cinnamon and cayenne.  Stir.
  3. When the liquid mixture has been heated, add carrots.
  4. Stir occasionally. Cook for 15-20 minutes or until the carrots are lightly browned and the liquid has cooked off (it actually cooks down and coats the carrots).  Season with salt and pepper.  Serve.
One response to “Glazed Carrots

  1. Val says:

    Thanks for the link! I just “bought” it and am looking forward to perusing it. I’m an ex-vegan (no salt, oil, sugar) and just recently transitioned into paleo. This will be helpful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

