Tales of A Paleo Mom

My Dirty Little Secret

on January 6, 2014

My dirty little secret…

Starting the day after Christmas and up until Friday at noon, I had gone “no poo” which means no shampoo or conditioner.  Sorry if you were hoping for a more exciting secret!  When I said dirty, I really meant that it was dirty as in not clean, greasy, etc.!

Why “no poo” you may be asking?  After reading several blogs and Instagram posts about how much people loved not using shampoo and conditioner, I decided I would give it a try.  I am on winter break from school, so timing seemed to be perfect since it takes a while for your hair to adjust to not being stripped by the shampoo.   The first day I washed my scalp with a mixture of water and baking soda and then did a rinse of apple cider vinegar and water.  Didn’t notice anything but my hair didn’t feel “clean” like it normally feels after shampooing, but I remembered reading repeatedly about an adjustment period.  I didn’t wash my hair for two days which left it greasy and heavy feeling.  A ponytail was a must!  Then on the third day I did the same routine of water and baking soda followed by the vinegar rinse.  Same result and my hair still felt heavy and oily.  Again, I waited several days and went through the same routine.  Same.result.again. 😦  Finally on Friday while getting ready to meet up with some friends and their kids, I hopped in the shower with the intentions of just doing a water rinse in hopes of having cleaner looking hair.  I could tell within the first few minutes of the rinse that the end result was going to be the same.  Greasy, oily, heavy hair.  Somehow I ended up with the shampoo bottle in my hand and that was the end of “no poo”.

I really, really wanted to love not shampooing my hair.  If you google “no poo”, there are so many positive comments – hair feels healthier, has more body, don’t need to wash it every day (some people could go 3-4 days!), no need for other products for frizzy or curly hair, cheaper ($box of baking soda and jug of apple cider vinegar <$$$$shampoo and conditioner), less cleaning in the shower…and the lists seemed to go on and on.  But after eight days, I couldn’t see things improving, my hair felt dirtier than ever, and I was actually embarrassed to go out in public even with my hair pulled back in a ponytail.

Call me crazy, but I am actually considering trying to continue.   I know..I know.  I just complained about my hair being a greasy, gunky mess, but I really, really would LOVE to not have to use shampoo!  I am hoping/thinking I just need to transition to not shampooing slowly.  I just went eight days until having to wash it, so maybe this next time I will be able to go longer and gradually ween myself off shampoo?!?  The only dilemma is that I return to school tomorrow to teach and don’t really want to start the new year off with greasy, weighted down hair…my students would definitely say something…gotta love kids and their honesty!  It would be so much easier if I worked from home or was a stay-at-home mom.  But I am not, so I am sure I will be shampooing in the morning.

I am off to get my breakfast and lunch prepped for work tomorrow.  Hopefully I get into bed at a decent hour.  I feel bad saying it but I am bummed to be heading back to work tomorrow…is it to early to start the countdown to summer?!?

Leave a Reply

