Tales of A Paleo Mom

Now What?

on January 27, 2014

Drum roll please…

I finished my last workout of the Strong Curves program last night week (started this post last week and never finished…oops)!  Woo hoo!  My 10 year old son asked what we were going to do to celebrate…love that kid!

Here is one of the first workouts I did…

photo 3(4)

The numbers following the lift are the sets and reps recommended by the program. The numbers circled are what I completed for that day’s workout.

Here is the last workout I completed tonight last Sunday…

photo 2(4)


Again, following the lifts are the sets and reps recommended. In parenthesis, I listed what I was able to do in the previous workout and the numbers on the far right are what I completed that workout. A little confusing…sorry!

The program begins with body weight (BW) exercises to get you familiar with the movements, but I sure felt those in the beginning.  Now, I can hip thrust between 155 lbs. to 185 lbs. depending on which method I use.  In most other areas, I made some improvements and a few (shoulders and pull ups) have stayed about the same.

I am not sure where to go from here.  I had mentioned in an earlier post I wanted to get back into Crossfit type workouts, but working out at home with limited equipment can make that challenging plus at my age I don’t need any injuries.  I don’t want to loose any small gains I have made over the past seven months.  So not sure what is next as far as workouts.

I have been continuing with running/walking three days a week.  I am on week four of a couch to 5k training program.  Yesterday, I ran for a total of 16 minutes and thought I was going to die.  It wasn’t even 16 minutes straight.  With all this love for running, I signed up to run a neighborhood 5k with my sister, brother in law, and dad on my dad’s actual 70th birthday, March 9.

Update on the 30 day challenge, it was a dumb idea to start with the plank challenge.  Actually, it was a dumb idea to not do more research or put more thought into what my first challenge should be.  The plank challenge seemed easy…but it sucked.  Or I suck.  Either way, I am not doing it.  I am thinking that my challenges aren’t going to be workout related because it was a little too much.  I will be attempting a different challenge again next month which may be smarter because February is a shorter month, so it actually won’t be a 30 day challenge.  And I am going to put a little more thought and planning into my monthly challenge.  No more planking.

Quick and delicious recipe I have been meaning to post….

Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Shallots, Cranberries and Pistachios

What you need…

  • 1 bag of Trader Joes shaved Brussels sprouts (or 10 oz. shaved Brussels sprouts
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1-2 Tb. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. dried cranberries, chopped
  • 1/4 c. pistachios, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

What to do…

  1. Heat oil in large frying pan over medium heat.
  2. Once heated, add shallot to pan and saute for 3-4 minutes.
  3. Add Brussels sprouts and toss to coat.  Cook until Brussels sprouts softened, about 6-8 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in cranberries and pistachios.  Salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Optional:  For those that do dairy, you could sprinkle with Parmesan cheese just before serving.

Leave a Reply

