Tales of A Paleo Mom

Butternut Squash, Italian Sausage and Kale Soup

on January 29, 2014

When my CSA box from farmfreshtoyou came, I had no idea what do to with some of the vegetables.  The fruit, lettuce and sweet potatoes were eaten within the first few days.  I had a butternut squash and a head of Lacinato kale sitting in my vegetable bin wasting away.  I had no idea what to do with them.  Then after a little thought and a family sick with the flu, I thought soup was just what I needed to stay healthy and use up the veggies.  It came out very tasty (if I can brag a little) and definitely something I would make again.  I even think the rest of the family would have liked it…if I would have shared.

Butternut Squash, Italian Sausage and Kale Soup

What you need…

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 Tb, olive oil
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 c. chicken broth
  • 4 c. water
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp. rosemary
  • 1/2 of a butternut squash, peeled, seeded and chopped
  • 1 lb. pork sausage (I accidentally used hot… a little spicy but I liked it)
  • 1 lb. kale, washed, ribs removed and coarsely chopped

What to do…

  1. In a stock pot, heat oil over medium-high heat.  Once hot, add onion and saute 4-5 minutes.  Add garlic and saute 1 more minute.
  2. Add broth, water, salt, pepper, bay leaf and rosemary.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer.  Simmer for 20 minutes.
  3. After the 20 minutes of simmering, add squash and simmer an additional 30 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, brown sausage and drain.
  5. After the 30 minutes, add kale and sausage.  Simmer for another 12-15 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!
2 responses to “Butternut Squash, Italian Sausage and Kale Soup

  1. Bobbie says:

    My daughter fixed this and shared with me. Wonderful smell and soothing rich flavor. After veggies and sausage gone added rice and peas to broth. Yummy. Thanks for recipe

Leave a Reply

