Tales of A Paleo Mom

March Challenge Update and Smashingly Good Flank Steak in a Flash Recipe

on March 7, 2014

I am happy to report things are going well with the family’s healthy eating (with the exception of pizza consumed by my husband at a work function).

My only complaint with the change is I am spending way too much time in the kitchen. I am fixing dinner and then prepping meals for the following day. I feel like I am in the kitchen from the time I walk in the door until I go to bed. I can’t complain too much because everyone is eating the foods I am making, so I know it’s worth the extra time. I will be trying to do more prep this weekend to avoid some of this during the upcoming week which is going to be crazy due to report cards and parent teacher conferences.

Our menu changed a couple nights this week. The pizza chicken rolls I had planned for Tuesday are a bit of work. So instead of butterflying, stuffing and rolling them, I pounded the breast so they were even in thickness, topped with pizza sauce and our toppings, and baked in oven at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Just as tasty, even without the bacon, and a lot less work.

Last night my husband had his work function and asked that I save our smashed steak dinner for a night he was home, so I fixed burgers and subbed lettuce for buns.

Tonight was smashed steaks. Super easy, delicious and fast (recipe below). I served it with roasted peppers and onions and my balsamic sauce. Mmmmmm….

Tomorrow night will be pulled pork from Primal Cravings. My daughter is concerned it won’t be the same with out bread…hoping she will be pleasantly surprised.

Ahhhhhh…I’m running a 5k on Sunday with my sister, brother in law and dad, who is turning 70 on Sunday. I know it’s only three miles, but I HATE running and am running it with experienced runners. My training program fell apart when I got sick, and it’s been rough getting back into a routine. My goal is to run the whole thing…crossing my fingers and toes on that one.

Smashingly Good Flank Steak in a Flash

What you need…
-one flank steak (for a family of 5, I usually get a 1.5 to 2 lb. steak which usually doesn’t leave any leftovers)
-1-2 Tb. Kerrygold butter, melted
-salt and pepper

What you do…
1. Cut the flank steak lengthwise. Then cut each long strip into eight equal pieces. You will end up with 16 pieces total.
2. One at a time, take a piece of steak and stand it up on its side. Pound with a meat mallet until about 1/4 inch thick. Continue
with remaining pieces.
3. Take melted butter and brush the pounded steak. Salt and pepper if desired.
4. BBQ. They don’t take long since they aren’t very thick. Just a couple minutes. Don’t overcook!
5. Let rest for a few minutes before serving. Enjoy!
*I like mine just like this, but the rest of the family likes this steak with my balsamic sauce.

Leave a Reply

