Tales of A Paleo Mom

Happy Birthday Dad and Weekly Menu Plan

on March 10, 2014

My dad turned 70 today!

To celebrate his birthday, my sister, brother in law, dad and I ran a 5k.  My goal was to run the whole thing, and I am happy to announce that I did it!

IMG_0649

Headed for the finish line!

IMG_0661

After the race..with our photographer and cheerleader, my mom

IMG_0670

My sister and I

On the flip side, I was a little disappointed that my pace was 10:49 per mile (slow poke!), but you have to start somewhere I guess.

The race my dad really wants the gang to do is The Wharf to Wharf in Santa Cruz which is a 10k on July 27.  The original discussion was to run that one to celebrate his birthday.  Then this race popped up on his actual birthday, so we decided to do this one too.  This was just a warm-up race.  (I am in TrOuBle!)  I need to start training now 😉  Eeeek!

Weekly Menu Plan (Parent-Teacher conference week means it’s a slow cooker week!  All recipes are from “Easy Paleo Slow Cooker” by Arsy Vartanian – it was a free ebook on Amazon a few weeks ago and lifesaver for this busy week!)

  • Sunday:  dinner out with family to celebrate my dad’s birthday
  • Monday:  Chicken Verde
  • Tuesday:  Smoky BBQ Beef Brisket – from Scratch!
  • Wednesday:  my mother in law is cooking dinner
  • Thursday:  Chicken, Artichokes, and Sun-Dried Tomatoes
  • Friday:  Paleo Pizza night? (we may sneak out of town-my husband has a long weekend)

Later this week, I will be posting about my Stitch Fix #4.  I am still trying to decide which items to keep and which to send back…

Leave a Reply

