Tales of A Paleo Mom

Whole 30 – Day 2

on March 29, 2014

I successfully made it through Day 1…barely.   After my lunch post, we had had to lock down at school which caused much chaos for students and teachers.  It’s a long story but made for an exciting and anxiety causing afternoon.  Following work, there was a bridal shower for one of my coworkers at Sonoma Chicken Coop.  I wasn’t looking forward to going but knew it was the right thing to do.  It had plates of appetizers which consisted of icky, greasy food “stuff” , so I opted to watch everyone eat and drink while I sipped water.  I even drove home with a red velvet cupcake in my hand (for my husband) without sneaking even a small nibble.  Dinner was boring…sauteed chicken and salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  I was still hungry, so I ate a handful of pistachios.

After doing the dishes, I decided to make myself a cup of mint chocolate tea with coconut milk.  I was hoping this would hit the spot for “a treat” after dinner but it didn’t really do the trick.  I ended up eating a few more pistachios and an orange.  All in all…day 1 was a success!

Today…Day 2….hmm…I had nothing to pack for lunch which could have lead to me calling the WHOLE thing off (that’s my bad attempt at humor!).  I decided that wasn’t an option.  I am committed to doing this!  Meal 1 was easy to take care, and I decided to throw Applegate salami into Meal 2 bag and planned on running out for something else like a salad or something.  I ended up picking up sugar snap peas, baby carrots, and guac.   Once I got back to school, the salami wasn’t sounding like a great choice, so I had 2 hard-boiled eggs which I had left in the fridge overnight and my veggies and guac. along with a banana.  I can’t repeat enough how important prepping is…need to practice what I preach 😉  I will definitely be prepping this weekend.

I did wake up with a headache this morning which went away about 10:00 and I felt a bit nauseous for about a half hour.  Not sure if it’s related to changing my diet…it’s only been one day!  I did sleep all night without waking up sweating to death so I was happy about that!

That’s it.

Nothing too exciting.

I think I will wrap up my day by having a cup of red velvet chocolate tea in a bit, meal planning and prepping my grocery list, before calling it a night.

Leave a Reply

