Tales of A Paleo Mom

No Excuses and Better With Chocolate Chips Banana Mini Muffins

on July 14, 2014

It’s been a while.  A long while.  Lots has gone on and I will be writing about that in a long post soon to come.

Today…just a delicious, simple recipe my whole family loves, and I always have the ingredients on hand for to whip up a quick batch.  I found the recipe on Pinterest (addicted to Pinterest currently!) while attempting my fourth try at #2 Whole 30 (that’s a whole post of its own as well).  I changed the original recipe up by cutting it in half and making mini muffins.  My first batch was without chocolate chips because I thought I was doing a Whole 30.   Once I stopped my Whole 30, I changed the recipe by adding mini chocolate chips…because everything is better with chocolate.

This was my first batch without chocolate chips when I thought I was trying to do Whole 30.

Aren’t they cute!  This was my first batch (believe or not without chocolate chips…what?!?!?!?)  when I thought I was trying to do Whole 30.

Better With Chocolate Chips Banana Mini Muffins

(adapted from todaysletters.com, Grain Free Banana Muffins)

Makes 12 mini muffins

What you need…

  • 2 spotted bananas (original recipe called for 3 spotted bananas but since I cut it in half I used 2 smaller spotted bananas)
  • 3/4 c. raw cashews
  • 1/2 c. almond flour
  • 1 Tb. coconut oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • coconut oil to grease muffin tins
  • 1/4 c. mini chocolate chips (optional)

What to do…

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease mini muffin tins.
  2. Grind cashews in food processor until ground into a fine meal.
  3. Add coconut oil and blend until consistency is cashew butter.  (This takes a while.  Be patient.)
  4. Add the bananas and blend until well combined.
  5. In a separate bowl (medium size), whisk egg.  Then add cashew banana mixture along with almond flour, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla, cinnamon, and salt.  Mix until batter forms.
  6. If adding chocolate chips (and why won’t you!), mix into batter now.
  7. Pour batter into greased muffin tins filling each about 3/4 full.
  8. Bake for 12 minutes or until muffins are cooked through.
  9. Let muffins completely cool on a rack before storing (if they last that long!).

 

 

Leave a Reply

